Where is Ken?

Ken has gone into the hospital for further treatment and testing for ALS, the effects of which he has been dealing with for the last 8 months.  More information about ALS can be found here.
Although he will no longer be posting entries, your comments are always most welcome.

The Hermit Poet

30 responses to “Where is Ken?

  1. Please tell Ken he is missed.

    Lee

  2. Please let Ken know he’s in our thoughts and prayers. I’ve so enjoyed his blog!

  3. Barbara Schenck

    Thanks for letting us know about Ken. We will definitely be keeping him in prayers. Please give him my best wishes. His columns have always been insightful and challenging. Please thank him for me.

  4. Sending thoughts and prayers your way Ken.

  5. Ken,

    Please know that you are in my thoughts and prayers as well.

    You have been an inspiration to me in this genea-blogging adventure. Your blog has been one of the most informative and intelectually challenging in the genealogy universe.

    I wish I had gotten to know you sooner so we could have had more stimulating discussions and sharing sessions.

    May God bless you – Randy

  6. M. Diane Rogers

    I miss you too, Ken. Will be keeping your always good advice in mind & I’ll be sending good thoughts your way often.
    Best wishes, Diane R

  7. I can only echo the sentiments of previous commenters – best wishes to you both and your family at this time. We’re thinking of you and hoping for you.

  8. I wish you and your family the very best Ken as you face this new challenge. You will be in my thoughts and prayers.

    Laura

  9. All my best wishes to you, Ken, and your family. I wish you strength as you take on this new challenge and hope for good things in the future.
    Linda N.

  10. Ken: Just want to let you know you are in my thoughts and prayers. You have been an inspiration. I learned so much from you in your workshops at the Prairie History Room. Verna Thompson

  11. We are thinking of you and your family, Ken.
    Celeste at SGS

  12. Claire Smith-Burns

    Ken, I am keeping you in my prayers — as are the members of the Kelowna & District Genealogical Society. Keep your spirits up, Claire

  13. Listen, Ken. It was bad enough when you were challenging our intellect with your thoughts on how to research and lecture and so on. But now you are challenging us on another level, forcing us to think in a big way about how fragile life can be. I know this wasn’t what you intended when you retired, but it just might turn out to be a greater gift. Our thoughts really are with you through these difficult times.

  14. Ken, all members of the Abbotsford Genealogical Society wish you well. Yours will not be an easy road ahead – just know our prayers are with you.

  15. Hello Ken,
    Just to let you know that the RPL staff are thinking about you and upholding you in prayer. We miss your expertise and your “dry” sense of humour. Take care.

  16. Daniel Suchoboki

    You are one of the best story tellers i’ve met! The amount of information in your head astounds me. Your presence is missed.

  17. Ken,
    It’s been a long time since I worked with you at RPL but I have many happy memories of that time. I am still plugging away at GPRC library. My thoughts and prayers are with you and your family.

  18. Ken,

    I wish you and your family the very best as you and they face this new challenge. My thoughts and prayers are with you all.

  19. Dearest Ken, I walk with you in spirit. I was telling some of my students about you in our Information Literacy class this evening. I mentioned the “simple” fact that you are the genealogical librarian for whom I have the highest regard. I did not mention that you also may have ALS, as they do not know you and I did not wish them to view you through the “lense” of illness. Those of us who know you, and who have added a comment here, certainly do not define you by any illness you might have. You are Ken Aitken — friend, genealogist extraordinaire, instructor, librarian — with all the wonderful attributes that your name invokes for all of us. Love, Fiona

  20. Robert L. Pittendrigh

    Dear Ken
    Just a short note to let you know I will be thinking of you and wishing you all the best. I just got back from our regular Wed night meeting with John and Roger, a tradition that you started. It was wonderful working with you at the FHL for all those years. My thoughts and prayers are with you and yours.

  21. We miss you on the APG list!

    Best wishes to you from Joy Rich, Brooklyn, New York, USA.

  22. Dear Ken:
    I’ve enjoyed reading your email posts to our New Zealand group over the last several years. Our thoughts and prayers are with you and your family.

    Love,
    Mike & Diana West

  23. Hi Ken:

    I thought you might be wondering how the week in Salt Lake City went. It was great! And no, one week of lectures, plus research, is not too long. And I’m sure you were wondering – yes, indeed, you were missed.

    My thoughts and prayers go out to you, Christine, and family.

    Kindest regards,
    Bev Weston

  24. Hi Ken,

    Just a note to let you know that you are on the minds and in the prayers of many here at RPL, and how sorry we all were to hear of your latest travails.
    I must confess, though, that I am experiencing a certain trepidation, thinking of how many truly terrible jokes could be generated by that agile mind of yours out of such a period of enforced physical inactivity. Don’t spare us! Lay them on us as they percolate to the surface!
    Pat

  25. Hi Ken,
    I was shocked and saddened to learn of your illness. I don’t think even ALS will be able to keep you down! ALS has hit our family as well (a cousin) so I know first-hand how difficult it can be. Good luck and know that you have many friends in the genealogy community who are praying for you and your family to be granted the strength needed for this.
    Eileen

  26. Dear Ken,
    Eileen and I were just thinking out loud about you, on our fall trip to SLC, remembering back to that first bus trip that you organized for SGS. That was quite an expedition for many, and helped quite a few open their eyes to the possibilities of genealogy.
    Thank you for your many kind actions and thoughts shared throughout the years.
    My best wishes to you now and always.
    Laura

  27. Margaret Bessai, Dunlop Gallery

    Dear Ken and Family, I will always remember that you made it fun to walk into Prairie History, no matter how ludicrous my question may have been. With your help, the secret history of Regina’s first ATM has now been published! Thank you, and best wishes.
    Sincerely, Margaret

  28. Ken

    Just wanted to say hello and wish you and your family best wishes during this difficult time. I shall always remember the first SGS bus trip you organized to Salt Lake City and am grateful for the genealogy assistance you gave me over many years. Thanks.

    Best Regards
    Marilyn

  29. Hello Ken,

    I just heard of your illness today – may I too say that my thoughts and prayers are with you. I have missed your comments to those of us who were on your email list and had thought it was due to having too much fun being retired. I’m sorry this was not the case. I wish you well.

  30. I was shocked and sad to hear about Ken passing away. During my studies, we exchanged e-mails. During our telephone discussions, before and after the course material, we had a very good exchange about our interests and experiences. We chatted as old friends would do and promised each other to visit each other to finish our discussions.

    You will be missed old friend.

    Gary R. Hayes

Leave a Reply

