Inspired by the BCG Genealogical Standards Manual

Do you own a copy of The BCG Genealogical Standards Manual? It was created by the Board for Certification of Genealogists and published by Ancestry in 2000. Get a copy and read it through. It is very thought provoking for me. And inspiring. For example, the other day I was reading through item 28 on page 11.

“Previous assumptions (presumptions) brought to the correlation, often unconsciously, are recognized, including…”

What follows is a discussion of fundamental presumptions, valid presumptions, and unsound presumptions.

By the time I finished reading the entries my mind was afire with GUILT. And I confess, a certain amount of delight at the prospect of revisiting three or four of my early research “achievements” and unpacking those assumptions I made unconsciously, then redoing the research.

I was inspired to outline an idea for a lecture, using my early blundering for case studies, and I can see two or three articles coming from this new research. Oh Happy Day! More work.

Take a look. This is an important reference tool on my bookshelf.

Your comments are welcome.

3 responses to “Inspired by the BCG Genealogical Standards Manual

  1. Links in your blog go to a Word Press log in screen. I’m using XP Pro and Firefox.

  2. Very amazing site! I wish I could do something as nice as you did…mary

Leave a Reply

