Road Show Notes: The Door Prize

I offer a door proze at my presentations. Last night in beautiful Kelowna BC I had everyone fill in a slip with name and email. We drew the winner, and she got a prize worth $75.
The other slips had info as precious as the prize winners name– potential clients.
So today I entered them in my database and sent them a message asking if they had any follow up questions or comments. I`ll answer all responses, and in 6 weeks share something interesting with them so they remember me.
What do you think Will they remember me when they need a professional genealogist

4 responses to “Road Show Notes: The Door Prize

  1. Hi Ken,

    I wondered if you were on the road…glad to see you blogging. I got the dreaded “Page No Longer Available” a day or two ago for your site.

    OK, you got me, what was the door “proze?” Not a door, I hope. I’m guessing 3 hours of genealogy consultation or research.

    And the others WILL remember you since you gave them a great talk and then emailed them afterward. You may be the only pro who did that to them, and if they need research services, you may be the benefactor. Well done.

    Cheers — Randy (back from grandbabysitting in Santa Cruz)

  2. One thing to check out nowadays is any privacy legislation for the jurisdiction you’re in. For example, in British Columbia, there is the Personal Information Protection Act (PIPA).

    Since I have an e-mail list or two, I’ve started taking a sign-up sheet with me to my workshops & talks. On the sheet, I make it clear that the person is giving me their name & e-mail address so I can be in touch with them later.

    For genealogists, this does seem silly. We are almost always happy to hear even from total strangers—if they have family information relevant to our queries or any ideas at all that will help us in our research.

  3. Diane,
    Sounds like a great idea to build in permission to use email into the forms used for door prizes or registrations. Thanks for sharing the concept.

    Randy,
    Another good idea! Use that old shower door I could not sell in the garage sale as a true door prize. The truth is, Randy, the door prize was a gift certificate for a $75 course from the National Institute for Genealogical Studies. If I was speaking in your community at a group exceeding 25 people, I would have a similar door prize to give!

    But I am also looking into giving consultations as door prizes. A thiry minute consultation could be done by phone or in person depending on the circumstances. Its a great idea.

    Thanks both of you for your comments.
    Ken

  4. Ken,

    The light bulb went on as I read your comment back to me.

    In our little society of 80, we have a raffle every meeting – a dollar a chance, as a fund raiser, with the prize usually a small book or a chart or a map, etc. We could offer an hour or two of research consultation with one of our “experts” as the raffle prize, and I’ll bet the take on the raffle would increase significantly. I’ll recommend it to the board!

    Funny, I only thought of it before in your context, not mine.

    Thanks — Randy

Leave a Reply

