Right Speaker, Wrong Audience

Kenflower.JPG

Reading through the stack of evaluations gathered on my six-city tour of British Columbia I noted several unhappy people in one location and began to look closely at the advertising done by my host. Unfortunately, as I expected, they had not been clear about the content and intended audience for my presentations. I did two 70 minute lectures and two longer seminars for my hosts. Some were complainig they did not get what they expected. How could this problem be addressed?

First, if I were the host and had heard the complaints I would refund the complainers for their fees. It would be better than trying to counteract their impact as complainers on the people they grumble to.

However, I think this can be avoided by advertising effectively. If they had created a brochure with descriptions of the lectures, seminars etc on them, along with intended audience of each, more people would have a clear idea about what was being offered BEFORE they paid their money. But that was not done. Nor did the website created for the events discuss intended audiences. I did my job Like always, it could be improved. But my hosts could learn a thing or two about program planning and promotio, too.

So think about it. When you promote a genealogy event do you define the intended audience carefully? Or sell people on the glory of the speaker. Let's get this right. Ken Aitken can be replaced by a camel or a bag of spuds if they taught what your audience was looking for. We live and learn here in Next Year Country.

What do you think?

Leave a Reply

