Podcast Your Lectures: Another Revenue Stream for Speakers

woman teaching.jpg
I was thinking just the other day when reviewing my topics selected for an upcoming conference that they had chosen one of my old favourite lectures, and I wondered if it could be recorded and sold. An audio version seemed to be insufficient. I wanted my powerpoint to go with it, but being of small brain could not see how to do this. Then I heard about Profcast.

Profcast (http://profcast.com/public/index.php) just might be the sort of product I need. It creates podcasts of our lectures. Lectures we could sell from our web sites in Connecticut simultaneously while we are on the beach at Key West or Tofino or even in the Atacama Desert. It's a different angle on web based learning

According to their promotional material, "ProfCast is the ideal tool for recording and publishing your live Keynote or PowerPoint presentation. All elements of your presentation, including slide timing and voice narration, are recorded. You can then publish your complete presentation on the Web as a podcast, complete with RSS support.

* Live presentation recording

* Synchronized slides with audio
* RSS generation for podcasting

* Publishing support via FTP, SFTP and .Mac

* Integration with GarageBand 3

* Integration with iWeb

* Support for Audio Playthrough

* File size control

*ProfCast lecture podcast software allows you to record your presentation as you give it!

Apparently ProfCast also helps you publish your recorded presentation as a podcast. I don't understand most of this yet, but can see some intersting potential here. I am trying to imagine you visiting my new website when its launched, and downloading a free podcast, or paying a fee to me to receive a podcast lecture.

What do you think? Check out the site and tell me what you see.

4 responses to “Podcast Your Lectures: Another Revenue Stream for Speakers

  1. Hi Ken,

    I think that this may be part of the future of genealogy seminars and conferences. IF, and it’s a big IF, the speakers can find a way to market it to local societies who can show it to their members at seminars or programs.

    From the discussion on the APG list, it appears that playing audio CDs or video CDs or DVDs of genealogy programs to a group of people in a public place is a no-no due to copyright infringement.

    Therefore, I think it would behoove speakers who want to use something like Profcast to market their programs come up with realistic fees (per person basis?) so that societies can show them to the mutual benefit of the speaker and the students.

    Perhaps a clearing house for APG speakers could be established with a per view fee for home use or a per download fee for society use. As a society program guy, I think we would readily pay $1 per head to view a 50 minute program on occasion (the details of counting heads and paying needs to be worked out, obviously). As an individual, I might be willing to pay $5 to view it online once if I could have handout papers to refer to later on.

    Your thoughts? — Randy

    PS. Have you visited my blog? http://randysmusings.blogspot.com/

  2. This comment is off-topic and I apologize. I couldn’t quite figure out where to put this idea.

    ken, your site is fabulous and you have a tremendous amount of experience and a generous desire to share what you know.

    I stumbled accross the site, Vocation Vacations and immediately thought of you. I think spending time with you would be incredibly valuable.
    http://www.vocationvacations.com

    VocationVacations® – US
    GROUNDED NOMADS, LLC
    1631 NE Broadway, #422
    Portland, OR 97232-1425
    1-866-888-6329

  3. Ken,

    Looks like you have a fan club here…is Desta trying to lure you onto a cruise ship to give genealogy seminars? If so, sign me up…

    Or is there an ulterior motive in this invitation? If so, enjoy!

    Cheers — Randy

  4. VocationVacation is more of a job shadowing-type of opportunity.

    However, the idea of a cruise ship certainly makes my eyes close and my lips smile. Great idea!

Leave a Reply

