Blogging:Talking to Oneself Aloud?

Ken profile.jpg

Useless Information Department. The most widely read posting in the last 30 days was this gem.  But you will see only one comment. Almost 300 visitors and just one comment. I am talking to myself most days. I really am open to comments and critcisms and discussion.

3 responses to “Blogging:Talking to Oneself Aloud?

  1. I’ve only subscribed to your blog for about a week. I did find the post about “Involving Your Lecture Audience” interesting with some useful tips, assuming that anyone invites me to lecture again (or I find a place to invite myself). That posting was especially useful for me since I tend to talk too much. It will be interesting how many comments you receive on *this* posting.

  2. Is the phrase “this gem” supposed to be linked to the most widely read posting?

    I’ve read each of your posts in the several months since I discovered this blog. I think that says something. I realize the lack of comments may be frustrating but some of us don’t see a need to comment.

    As someone who rarely reads blogs because the signal-to-noise ratio is generally so low, I find having a few focused, meaningful comments much more valuable than having to wade through a bunch of trash which results in my giving up and stop reading the blog.

    Additionally, I currently neither teach, lecture, or organize genealogy events. I’m here to get ideas with the intent of developing some lectures based on my experiences. While I haven’t made it through all of the archives, I don’t think I’ve seen anything about how to get started lecturing–the first baby steps. I’ve given presentations and keynotes, just not in the genealogy field.

  3. Dear Only and DI- and all.
    First of all, thanks for the comments.DI, I corrected the link for “gem” Thanks for the tip. This blog is just right for folks wanting to get into genealogy education. Its a good place to ask questions too.

    I am delighted both of you will continue as regulars.I’ll try to be meaningful. Your views are welcome as always. come again often.
    Ken

Leave a Reply

