Told You I was Talking to Myself

Ken looks right.jpgKen profile.jpg

Although we still average about 70-73 readers per day, we’ve had three comments in the last week from readers. I am beginnig to think that the 35,000 hits for this site are looking for the lyrics for, “I ain’t as good as i once was”, by Toby Keith, not from interested genealogists. Surely the 73 must have a respose to something I write. Even an emphatic “Hog Wash” would help.

6 responses to “Told You I was Talking to Myself

  1. Well, but see, if I’m the only one commenting and all I leave are comments that say nothing like this one does, then I’m not helping the situation. I’ll go look at your other post–maybe I can actually add to the conversation on that one. 🙂

  2. I think it was Henry Kissinger who said that the greatest praise his staff could ever hope for was the absence of strict criticism for very brief periods. So perhaps you should be grateful? I guess that many of your readers are like me – I read what you say with interest, and I often come away with an orange and a penny. I think that you’re a brave soul to put your ideas and thoughts out for public scrutiny (and for some of us to plagiarise shamelessly), don’t be disheartened, and don’t even think about giving up!

  3. Ken, There was a “very big grin” in my first response after “. . . grateful?”, but I put it in angle brackets and it got stripped out, I wasn’t being sarcastic.

  4. Ken,

    Just because we don’t comment doesn’t mean we aren’t reading. I read yours just about every night I am at home. I comment occasionally when I think I can add something.

    The same thing happens to me at my blog – 50 visitors a day, one or two comments at most. People are reading, just not commenting.

    The problem for most genea-bloggers is that the reader pool is very small. Out of 60 million people with an interest in genealogy, less than 5,000 are professionals or nearly so (APG is 1,600, I read), and only a small percentage of those (20%?) ever read a blog, much less yours or mine. Even Dick Eastman and Juliana Smith don’t get many comments and they have many more readers. We are essentially preaching to the choir.

    The problem is “critical mass” – those who read a blog and those who are willing to comment on one. Only by flogging the blog on message boards or mailing lists or in newsletters can you expand your audience. We can do it amongst ourselves by noting quality posts and leading our readers to each other.

    Cheers — Randy

  5. I agree that many are reading, even if few are writing. I just found your blog this morning and have read it all, had some ideas for comments but given the age of your original post, thought it might not be relevant. I have cut-and-paste some of your columns into my files for future reference. I like the idea of your apprentice (but sorry you have had a health problem that required it). I have just read your comments on speakers’ handouts at conferences. After attending a few meetings, I’ve learned which speakers just read their handouts, so I don’t bother to go to theirs; I can read by myself. Humor and spontaneous remarks appeal much more. Some of the speakers have not changed their presentations in almost ten years, as I learned in Boston.

    Regarding the man you saw enter FHL pushing a dolly loaded with cardboard file boxes held together with Bungy cords, someone just like that came to NEHGS in Boston last week! Most repositories won’t let patrons enter with that kind of setup and NEHGS made him leave the bulk of his bulk at the desk. What’s next – shopping carts full of documents?

    I hope this proves that I have read ALL your archives back to December 2005, and enjoyed.
    Keep up the good work, and be well.

    Jan Hall

  6. Interesting comments.. 😀

Leave a Reply

