Power-Point Tip for Genealogy Speakers

 

If you are using power-Point 2003, during your slide show, its possible to view the current slide plus the ones coming up next (or before). If your bullets are set to appear with the next click, you’ll see the upcoming bullet. If you’ve added any speaker notes, you’ll see them as well. however your audience will only see the current slide. Here’s how to set this up. Click the Slide Show menu, Set Up Show. In the Multiple monitors section, tick the box next to Show Presenter View. Now launch your show to see the results when you use two monitors or when you’re connected to your projector.

8 responses to “Power-Point Tip for Genealogy Speakers

  1. Ken,

    Do you like PowerPoint shows like you describe – point by point one at a time on the screen, rather than the whole slide of bullets? I can understand why the speaker would like it – it doesn’t show his hand.

    As an audience member, I don’t like the concept – I want to be able to hear the speaker, see the whole slide, and evaluate the material as a whole, rather than point by point. Just me, I guess.

    Actually, my preference is to see research examples that show the idea, more than bullet points, again – just me.

    Cheers — Randy

  2. The real issue here is font size. As I explained on Saturday to the Hermit Poet, you need to keep your fonts at 30 point or larger. This, of course, severely limits how many bullets fit on a page. I tend to copy the slide heading on multiple slides, changing the bullet points – two or three per slide.

    And I avoid blue backgrounds! Oh, yeah, I also use only san serif fonts. This is a serif font, best for lots of text.

    So with large fonts I cannot put 9 bullets on a page. Folks at the back have trouble seeing. They sleep just fine back there, though.
    Ken

  3. Two comments:
    I think a speaker needs to present a message that hangs together. If you’re talking about one point and the audience is reading another, you’ve got a problem. When I am dealing with an image of a document, I will usually say something as an introduction before I show it. Get everyone on the same page, basically.
    And Ken — every talk I give has a blue background! I did a fair bit of experimentation before I went that route. Blue seemed to be the easiest on the eyes, and it’s simple enough to find colors with enough contrast for the lettering. The worst background color for Powerpoint is white, although even that is preferable to some of the garbage I’ve seen — ie, the ones with textured backgrounds to make it harder to read the words, and logos on the side to distract the audience. Keeping it simple is always the best, but it’s so easy to add stuff these days that people feel they should.
    Dave

  4. Ken,

    Like most of us, I am a victim of circumstance. By experimenting, I found that a 16 point font works fine for my overheads on the big auditorium screen we use at CVGS. With a smaller screen, your 30 points might be absolutely necessary. I usually use Arial font – sans serif.

    Since I’m using overheads still, I have to use a white background in order to keep my color printing costs down. I experimented with light blue, green, violet and yellow, and I actually prefer black or red words on light yellow. Currently, I use the light yellow for my slide title.

    When I have a laptop and an LCD projector, I’ll change over to darker colored backgrounds and white type, although the darker color limits your ability to emphasize a point in another color.

    Cheers — Randy

  5. Dave, Randy,
    Aren’t you glad there’s room for your views here?
    Both of you present interesting views, different from mine. Readers need to be open to the possibility that either one of us is right, none of us has a clue what we are talking about, or its a matter of choice not which is better.
    Thanks for taking a stand.
    Ken

  6. Yes.

    We all may be right…we’re definitely OK!

    Randy

  7. The major beef with Microsoft is that its software allows users to do ridiculous things…like put 25 slices in a pie chart. I attended a graphics conference that slammed PowerPoint pretty hard as dummying down the audience…they even blamed the Challenger explosion on PowerPoint! Then I read another article that insisted that there be only a few lines per screen and a few words per line. (The graphics conference had a hilarious PowerPoint interpretation of the Gettysburg Address.) I don’t have anything, better yet. Do you all pass out ‘notes’ sheets to your audience? I prefer my audience to listen rather than scribbling furiously.
    I hope the PP tip works…I’d love to be able to see my notes and still display the slides on the big screen.
    My class starts Monday…with 7 students an all-time high!

  8. hi!
    ..nice site!

    …just wanted to alert you to a Ancestorville, new genealogy site with 3100 lost family photos from the 1800’s all for sale. It has been on the web about 2 weeks…has ephemera, articles, digital scans for purchase…all searchable by surname…hope you will check it out.

    Sncerely,

    Debra, owner

Leave a Reply

