Build You Client Base With an E-newsletter

Ken profile.jpg  In the last year or so I have been thinking about doing a free newsletter to serve certain potential clients. E-newsletters or E-zines can be a very simple way to add value to my services and keep my name and services before the public. Many professional seminar speakers have them, as do genealogy service outfits.

Professional Seminar speaker, Bob Prentice explains how he obtains potential subscribers, ” When I hand out my meeting materials I include a small index-card-sized piece with the benefits of subscribing to my weekly e-newsletter on one side. On the other side they can write in their contact information and leave it in a box at the back of the meeting room.” Louise St. Denis at the National Institute for Genealogical Studies  has a draw for a free on-line class at her lectures, and collects email addresses, then emails an invitation to join her mailing list.   I have tried that, but I have also  included a sign up on the evaluation form, offered to answer  any question if its written up and includes an email address. Genealogists are hungry for information. These methods  work wonderfully to capture new subscribers. This is a great “after-care” program also.

The challenge now is to send something they value. You do not want to be a spammer.

What do you think/

One response to “Build You Client Base With an E-newsletter

  1. My experience is that many professional speakers start sending them and they die on the vine – you get a few and they stop because the sender has other things more important to do. I don’t think I get even one now, but I know I’ve signed up for several.

    If I had an email newsletter, I think I would use it to promote my talks, take surveys for recipient interests, and provide links to new or improved web sites or services. There are enough news blogs now that if you try you can be right up to date with genealogy information and technology.

    Currently, I send several emails a month to my society’s email list (about 60% of members) with notices of meetings, special research tips and the like. Very few of them read the blog, even though my purpose of starting it was to be a daily resource for them. Ungrateful wretches? No, just not too web-oriented – that was a surprise to me. Know thy customer!

    Cheers — Randy

Leave a Reply

