Models for Building Web-based Instruction

marshwhambrookc1870.jpg

While researching “learning dyads” I found this interesting paper on approaches to on-line course design. Click here if you are curious enough to read an academic paper. What do you think?

3 responses to “Models for Building Web-based Instruction

  1. from what I’ve seen ( and I admit that I’m new to the field) genealogical education has typically occured in large part as presentations in classroom and and conferences, printed materials, or stand alone web sites of information.

    I’m curious if anyone has considered a blended solution for teaching a course online combining some elearning elements with some instructor led activities? For example I know that moodle (www.moodle.org) would allow a range of possible activities for hosting an online class. For the most part this would be an asynchronous event although you could build in some “live” elements through chats or conference calls. Any thoughts anyone? anyone ventured out into virtual space?

  2. Ken,

    I was surprised by the findings of the paper – it essentilly didn’t matter how the material was presented using the three concepts.

    Perhaps a better way of presenting the material, through a WebEx or eConference mode might improve the results.

    As mentioned before, I found the genealogy research lessons at http://www.learnwebskills.com/family/ to be effective for myself and my society colleagues.

    A combination of self-paced audio/visual lessons, with hands-on experience guided by the web site is very effective, I think.

    Cheers — Randy

  3. Chris, Randy
    First, I will take a closer look at Moodle http://www.moodle.org and think a bit more on this. thanks for the lead.
    Second, while I am doing that, take a look at the large number of on-line genealogy offerings at the National Institue for Genealogical Studies http://www.genealogicalstudies.com affiliated with the Univervisty of Toronto Faculty of Information Studies. Curious about what you see? Call Louise St. Denis at 800 580-0165 and discuss them with her.
    Third, I am very familiar with 3 of Louise’s course, Analysis & Skills Mentoring, 1, 2 and 3.
    These courses involve on-line assignments, mail-in assignments, one-on-one telephone consultations and group chats.
    Thanks for sharing.
    Ken

Leave a Reply

