Business Card Design

061021-vaca_6843.jpg

The Hermit poet and I were discussing business card design last night. He was particularly pleased with how his new card as editor of Box Car Poetry Review looks. Mine is very basic so I took out my cache of your cards collected at conferences across the continent, and through daily business to look them over. Mine is OK but not stellar. Here are six ideas I think might improve our business cards and make them more usable. Of course the card will not compensate for a dirty shirt, or a dab of Dijon’s on your chin.

  1. Create a focal point or central place that draws a reader’s eye. I have a line that serves as an axis point mid card. I could do better.
  2. Allow white space to help balance the layout. Don’t fill up the card with text the way my first card was. Too busy.
  3. Use a clear, strong logo that looks good when reduced in size on your business card. My stark leafless tree is pretty lame.
  4. Use a highlight color sparingly. Make sure colored elements highlights the one main message you want to convey. What highlight color?
  5. Be sure the highlight color you choose is appropriate to your business. For example, using green on a lawn care business card would be far more appropriate than, say, red or orange. What works for a professional genealogist?
  6. Limit your selection of type fonts to no more than two, which may also include their “families.” For example, a font family includes styles such as bold, italic, or bold-italic versions. Oops. Though both fonts are san serif, they are not in the same family.

Here are some more leads on business cards, purpose and design

Thanks to the Hermit Poet for making me look closer at my business card. I have much to learn. How about you?

One response to “Business Card Design

  1. Great ideas
    I have my genealogy students compile of list of their ‘great 8’ grandparents, so they can memorize these surames.

    Then I have them make up a genealogy business card to carry to research libraries, genealogy societies, and family gatherings. This card, in addition to contact info, lists Surnames and any other (location/time period) research interests.

    I will share these observations with my class..I also point out the microsoft site has biz card templates that they can edit easily.

Leave a Reply

