Teaching Standards for Instructors

ken_threequarter_sm.jpg One of my favorite genealogy instructors was Dr. Thomas Warren who taught an extra-sessional course at the University of British Columbia called “Library Research for Genealogists and Family Historians” or something like that. Tom was a great teacher. Here’s why:Dr. Warren’s courses were well organized, comprehensive and sequentrial in mature. They included student activities and a major project related to the course.

His courses were well designed, enabling us to develop knowledge and skills in the following:

  • awareness of genealogical sources in the university library
  • respect for these resources and the librarians and archivists who were custodians of them.
  • an ability to do credible genealogical research
  • practice in citing accuratelky the resources we used

Tom’s lessons had practical assignments to assess our learning. His instructional materials were current and accurate. His bibliographies were vey useful and in a standard style.

I liked his ability to do make effective classroom presentations . He team taught with his wife Grethe Warren and her style was different than his. They complemented each other. And they definitely encouraged student participation.

When you check in the BCG Genealogical Standards Manual (Orem UT: Ancestry, 2000) page 22 you will see just how important these standards for instructors are. Your comments are welcome.

2 responses to “Teaching Standards for Instructors

  1. I am so happy to be able to read your articles! I did not realize you had a web page until tonight. Your blog was being praised on the chat tonight! My prayers and thoughts are with you.

  2. I would like to teach genealogy.
    Please advise what qualifications/designations you need in order to do so. I have business degrees: AAS in Banking and Finance and BBA in Gen. Management, but my heart has been with Genealogy. How do I begin as I would like to get my qualifications whilst teaching the course. I live in NY/Westchester Area. Thank you for any leads.
    Anthony Joseph: anjoseph@juno.com / 646-294-3696

Leave a comment